issues cause by AC clutch replacement?? - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto LoansInsurance
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2013, 07:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
shrinex's Avatar
 
Member Number: 22688
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Colorado
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 105
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
shrinex has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default issues cause by AC clutch replacement??

I've replaced my ac clutch assembly (coil, plate, and pully) and now my car is rough idling and my brakes are stiff. I had to drop the subframe on the right side to reach the snap-pin for the clutch pully. Could I have messed with something in the process??

This is on a '03 duratec DOHC.
__________________

Last edited by shrinex; 01-05-2013 at 05:18 PM.
shrinex is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2013, 08:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Technical Advisor
 
Member Number: 11378
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 4,704
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 61
Jeff K has a reputation beyond reputeJeff K has a reputation beyond reputeJeff K has a reputation beyond reputeJeff K has a reputation beyond repute
Default

You probably popped off a vacuum hose. Look at the vacuum distribution block at the firewall near the brake booster and see if any hoses are disconnected.
__________________
05 Taurus SEL Duratec - my daily driver
04 Taurus SES Duratec - wifes car
95 Taurus GL Vulcan winter car
Toy #1 - 86 Tbird 5.0 (original owner) - LOTS of mods
Toy #2 - 88 Tbird Turbo Coupe - LOTS of mods
02 Pontiac Grand Prix GT
67 Honda 450 Super Sport - completely customized
Jeff K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 05:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
shrinex's Avatar
 
Member Number: 22688
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Colorado
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 105
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
shrinex has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff K View Post
You probably popped off a vacuum hose. Look at the vacuum distribution block at the firewall near the brake booster and see if any hoses are disconnected.
Thank you for you quick response.

I've noticed that the vacuum plug for a hose is cracked. One of the hoses that attaches to the intake and leads to the rear, by the firewall. Could this also effect my braking system as well?
__________________
shrinex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 07:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Technical Advisor
 
Member Number: 11378
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 4,704
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 61
Jeff K has a reputation beyond reputeJeff K has a reputation beyond reputeJeff K has a reputation beyond reputeJeff K has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Yes, power braking is provided using engine vacuum.
__________________
05 Taurus SEL Duratec - my daily driver
04 Taurus SES Duratec - wifes car
95 Taurus GL Vulcan winter car
Toy #1 - 86 Tbird 5.0 (original owner) - LOTS of mods
Toy #2 - 88 Tbird Turbo Coupe - LOTS of mods
02 Pontiac Grand Prix GT
67 Honda 450 Super Sport - completely customized
Jeff K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
shrinex's Avatar
 
Member Number: 22688
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Colorado
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 105
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
shrinex has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff K View Post
Yes, power braking is provided using engine vacuum.
I replaced the broken plug, which was a PCV elbow? (correct me if im wrong) and it did not resolve my issue. Now what it seems to be doing is idling at a WAY low rpm, after giving alittle gas, it simply stalls. Could my idle be too low and needs to be adjusted? I'm understanding that my engine doesnt have an idle plug for the throttle body, all controlled by the main computer.

I've uploaded a video for a better idea.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GQuRRDjy14
__________________
shrinex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 05:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Technical Advisor
 
behlinla's Avatar
 
Member Number: 14275
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: A blue car
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7,186
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 77
behlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Was the HVAC completely turned off in the video? The A/C clutch isn't engaging during the test or anything?

The idle speed is non adjustable. The only time you would have a problem is if the throttle body or IAC valve is full of carbon and blocking the airflow. Easy to check those.

But it does really sound like you have a big vacuum leak somewhere, so double check all the big vacuum hoses.
behlinla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 07:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Crazy Devoted Member
 
Member Number: 10865
Join Date: Dec 2006
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 11,094
Trader Score: 1 reviews
Rep Power: 47
sheila is a glorious beacon of lightsheila is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Sounds like you need to clean/replace iac (idle air control).
sheila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 02:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
shrinex's Avatar
 
Member Number: 22688
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Colorado
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 105
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
shrinex has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

the ac is turned off during this. when the ac is turned in, the engine stalls. the IAC was very dirty, i havent placed it back for testing. any idea of what hose it may be or where to look? its very tight spacing near the firewall so im not able to see what hoses are there. as ive stated, the brakes are stiff, so any vacuum hoses that effect the brakes as well.

thank you for all of your inputs
__________________
shrinex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Crazy Devoted Member
 
Member Number: 10865
Join Date: Dec 2006
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 11,094
Trader Score: 1 reviews
Rep Power: 47
sheila is a glorious beacon of lightsheila is a glorious beacon of light
Default

As Jeff mentioned above, carefully check the hoses attached to the black plastic vac. block on the drivers firewall, esp. the 1 marked BB (brake booster). Also check the block itself for cracks, damage.
sheila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 03:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member
 
shrinex's Avatar
 
Member Number: 22688
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Colorado
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 105
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
shrinex has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Thank you all!! I found a hose popped off near the brake booster. As you all expected. The spring clamps on the hose was to loose for it to be secured, I replaced them with some metal screw-on clamps.

I cleaned out the IAC while I was at it, since it was very dirty.


Now she runs better!! Thank you all!!
__________________
shrinex is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2