Help, i have problems with the band serpent - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto Loans
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2012, 01:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 51936
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: JALISCO, MEXICO
Chapter: Southern
Drives: SABLE 1997, AUTOMATICO, MOTOR DURATECH V6 3.0L
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 14
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
REYMOND is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Help, i have problems with the band serpent

IS NOT THAT HAPPENS, THE VOLTAGE OF THE BAND APPEAR TO BE APPROPRIATE, TO MAKE IT ROTATE MANUALLY MOVE ALL THE MECHANISMS, TO MOVE CARGO FROM ANOTHER CAR, MY CAR STARTS UP, BUT THE BAND AND ITS COMPONENTS remain immobile BY WHICH MY BATTERY DOES NOT HOLD A CHARGE. HOW DO I CHECK IF IT IS THE ALTERNATOR? ANYONE HAVE PHOTOS OR VIDEO THAT CAN HELP ME.
REYMOND is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-31-2012, 05:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Sam
breeves002
 
Sam's Avatar
 
Member Number: 49890
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: 2008 Mercury Sable Premier
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 6,126
Trader Score: 8 reviews
Rep Power: 68
Sam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond reputeSam has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Okay. First don't type in ALL CAPS please!

You can test your alternator voltage. One way to do it is remove it and a parts store should test it. You can check for the voltage while the motor is running. Should be at least 14v at idle.


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
__________________
Sam

2008 Mercury Sable Premier
2012 Kia Soul Base AT 1.6GDI
2004 Acura TSX 2.4
Moved On: 2000 Sable LS Premium Duratec
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 06:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
danhasenauer's Avatar
 
Member Number: 12182
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: a Taurus
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 2,421
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 22
danhasenauer has a spectacular aura about
Default

He typed "band serpent" in there, I think his serpentine belt/"band" is slipping badly........"BUT THE BAND AND ITS COMPONENTS remain immobile".....he also mentions a coolant loss, I'm thinking that hose/pipe fitting under the Tec motor spraying on his belt. Been there.....

Hola Reymond!
Comprobar el tensor de la correa. Usted ha dicho que usted tiene el motor Duratec, y una pérdida de refrigerante. ¿Ha comprobado la manguera de refrigerante y montaje de tuberías que se ejecuta en el motor? Con el tiempo, se oxida hacia fuera y sprays de refrigerante directamente en la correa serpentina, haciendo que se deslice. (or something like that...Mi Espanol no es bueno....)
__________________

'96 LX DOHC Moonlight Blue
Every option but the car phone
RIP 'Ol Blue - 09/2012

Last edited by danhasenauer; 12-31-2012 at 06:36 PM.
danhasenauer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 07:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Technical Advisor
 
behlinla's Avatar
 
Member Number: 14275
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: A blue car
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7,532
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 81
behlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond repute
Default

behlinla is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 12:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 51936
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: JALISCO, MEXICO
Chapter: Southern
Drives: SABLE 1997, AUTOMATICO, MOTOR DURATECH V6 3.0L
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 14
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
REYMOND is an unknown quantity at this point
Thumbs up excelente español, mucho mejor que mi ingles

Quote:
Originally Posted by danhasenauer View Post
He typed "band serpent" in there, I think his serpentine belt/"band" is slipping badly........"BUT THE BAND AND ITS COMPONENTS remain immobile".....he also mentions a coolant loss, I'm thinking that hose/pipe fitting under the Tec motor spraying on his belt. Been there.....

Hola Reymond!
Comprobar el tensor de la correa. Usted ha dicho que usted tiene el motor Duratec, y una pérdida de refrigerante. ¿Ha comprobado la manguera de refrigerante y montaje de tuberías que se ejecuta en el motor? Con el tiempo, se oxida hacia fuera y sprays de refrigerante directamente en la correa serpentina, haciendo que se deslice. (or something like that...Mi Espanol no es bueno....)
Antes que nada muchas gracias, te cuento como sucedió todo, mientras conducía de pronto se encendió la luz del testigo de la batería en el tablero. de inmediato sentí que la dirección hidráulica dejo de funcionar por lo que se volvió pesada. Me detuve de inmediato y abrí el capo para ver que sucedía, me percate de una fuga de refrigerante por la parte de la tapa presurizadora, espere a que se enfriara, rellene el tanque con agua y coloque la tapa, después de esto encendí el auto de nueva cuenta, arranco sin problemas, pero la aguja que mide las rpm no acciona, el testigo de la batería sigue encendido, la dirección es muy dura.
Intente encender el auto por la noche y no prendió, me quede sin carga, recurrí a pasar batería desde otro vehículo y si prendió pero a los dos minutos de desconectar la batería auxiliar mi auto se apaga nuevamente. Revise a detalle y me di cuenta que la correa o banda que llaman serpentina no se desplaza, supongo que tiene una buena tensión puesto que no se ve floja y si la giro manualmente hace girar todas las poleas sin mayor esfuerzo, la cosa es que cuando enciendo el auto ninguna polea inicia el movimiento y por ende la correa y las demás poleas permanecen sin movimiento.

De casualidad sabes que pieza es la que genera el movimiento en esa banda??
REYMOND is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 04:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 51936
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: JALISCO, MEXICO
Chapter: Southern
Drives: SABLE 1997, AUTOMATICO, MOTOR DURATECH V6 3.0L
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 14
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
REYMOND is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

ALTERNATOR GOOD, THE MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THE FAILURE IS BECAUSE broke the crankshaft pulley.

HAVE ANY IMAGE TO CHECK PULLEY really CHANGE THE PART.

ANOTHER QUESTION ME THIS FAILURE COULD RESULT IN MORE FAILURES.
REYMOND is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 06:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Technical Advisor
 
behlinla's Avatar
 
Member Number: 14275
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: A blue car
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7,532
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 81
behlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Debe haber dañado o roto el chavetero de metal en el extremo del cigüeñal. Esta ranura es una pequeña barra de metal que encaja en una ranura y se convierte en la polea del cigüeñal. Usted tendrá que quitar y reemplazar la polea del cigüeñal y la chaveta.



El único fallo sería otra posible las juntas de culata, dependiendo de la gravedad del recalentamiento era.
behlinla is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 08:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 51936
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: JALISCO, MEXICO
Chapter: Southern
Drives: SABLE 1997, AUTOMATICO, MOTOR DURATECH V6 3.0L
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 14
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
REYMOND is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

thanks
pulley of the image corresponds to a 3.0 duratec engine?
I have trouble finding it, appears to be rare and in a store that gives me hope but say they have two models, one that has only three holes and one with many more.
REYMOND is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 01:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Technical Advisor
 
behlinla's Avatar
 
Member Number: 14275
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: A blue car
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7,532
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 81
behlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Imagen anterior es 3.0L OHV Vulcan el motor.

Usted tiene el motor 3.0L DOHC Duratec?

Duratec pulso rueda:



Asegúrese de que la chaveta se alinea con el diente que falta.

behlinla is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 01:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 51936
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: JALISCO, MEXICO
Chapter: Southern
Drives: SABLE 1997, AUTOMATICO, MOTOR DURATECH V6 3.0L
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 14
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
REYMOND is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Este es mi motor

Cual de estas poleas es el damper??
Attached Thumbnails
Help, i have problems with the band serpent-99-3.0l_duratec_engine_01.jpg  
REYMOND is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2