tach - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-30-2012, 10:00 PM Thread Starter
Crazy Devoted Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter: Midwest
Year: 1998
Model: Mercury Sable
Engine: 3.0L 24v Duratec V6
Posts: 17,781
Rep Power: 85
    
Trader Score: 1 reviews
tach

What's the most common cause for a non-working tach? Tach itself, faulty crankshaft position sensor (ckp) or something else? 99tec is running fine, but tach sits at 0. If you tap the cluster lens with your fingers or knuckles, needle will bounce up midway or so and work correctly for a few moments, then settle back down to 0.

Last edited by sheila; 11-30-2012 at 10:05 PM.
sheila is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-30-2012, 10:11 PM
Sam
breeves002

 
Sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Chapter: Midwest
Year: 2008
Model: Mercury Sable
Engine: 3.5L Ti-VCT V6
Posts: 6,556
Rep Power: 93
       
Garage
Trader Score: 8 reviews
My guess is on the tach itself. Could just be loose wiring in the dash. If you can tap it I doubt it's an issue besides the tach itself. Just pull apart the cluster and reseat the tach in the cluster. PITA, but may fix it. If you have an extra tach around throw it in there... I've got one if you need it, give it to you free plus shipping (just the tach).

I feel like if it was a problem with the actual tach lead on the motor that it would be throwing a code since the PCM wouldn't be getting the correct data for engine speed, right?

Sam

GET YOUR 2015 TCCA SHIRT HERE:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


2008 Mercury Sable Premier
2014 Ford Focus Electric
1997 Mercury Grand Marquis GS
1991 BMW 850i E31 M70 V12
Moved On: 2000 Sable LS Premium Duratec

Last edited by Sam; 11-30-2012 at 10:14 PM.
Sam is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-30-2012, 10:23 PM
Ben
I Drive A Fuze
 
Ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Longmeadow, MA
Chapter: Northeast
Posts: 3,053
Rep Power: 31
  
Trader Score: 1 reviews
No, the engine sends the speed to the tach. Wouldn't throw a code.

2012 Fusion Sport, 56k miles, White Platinum Tri-coat. Every option except nav. 28% tint, Diode Dynamics LEDs, Steeda CAI, Steeda 93 octane SCT Tune, Steeda 22.5mm RSB, Magnaflow Catback, Enkei Raijin

[SOLD]2004 SEL Premium, 72,700 miles, Vibrant White. 35% Tint, K&N Panel filter, Remote Start, 4x Infinity Reference 6832cf, JVC KW-R800BT, Rockford Fosgate 501bd, Bazooka BT1014

The Toy
1989 Mustang LX 5.0 Vert, White, T5, built motor/driveline, race suspension, fast/loud as f*ck
Ben is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-30-2012, 11:37 PM
Technical Advisor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Blythewood, SC 29016
Chapter: Southeast
Posts: 17,405
Rep Power: 102
     
Trader Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via AIM to bull geek Send a message via MSN to bull geek
Is the car in question a floor shift model? Do you have another floor shift model in the household?

I would do a quick swap of the cluster and see if the tach works with a different cluster. Isolate if wiring is the issue or the cluster. E-z to do on Gen 3 floor shifts. Pop out bezel, then remove 4 screws for IC...out comes the cluster.

--Nick
-'66 Ford Country Squire wagon 390/C6
-'87 & '89 Mercury Colony Park wagons 302 EFI/AOD
-'90 Lincoln Town Car 302 EFI/AOD
-'03 Lincoln Town Car 4.6L/4R70W

former '87 Taurus 3.0 GL sedan, '87 Taurus 3.0 GL Wagon, '97 Taurus SHO 3.4 V8 sedan, '00 Taurus SEL 3.0 24V
bull geek is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-01-2012, 01:35 AM
Sam
breeves002

 
Sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Chapter: Midwest
Year: 2008
Model: Mercury Sable
Engine: 3.5L Ti-VCT V6
Posts: 6,556
Rep Power: 93
       
Garage
Trader Score: 8 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04 SEL View Post
No, the engine sends the speed to the tach. Wouldn't throw a code.
But it goes through the PCM according to this electrical diagram I'm looking at. Maybe it's wrong. This is for a 99'. I mean doesn't the PCM need to know the engine speed lol? Of course it does.

I can't find the dang diagram again. If you guys say it doesn't go to the PCM before the cluster I'll believe you!

Nick, I love how you say "E-Z" instead of "easy". It's just always made me chuckle.

Sam

GET YOUR 2015 TCCA SHIRT HERE:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


2008 Mercury Sable Premier
2014 Ford Focus Electric
1997 Mercury Grand Marquis GS
1991 BMW 850i E31 M70 V12
Moved On: 2000 Sable LS Premium Duratec
Sam is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-01-2012, 09:17 AM
Technical Advisor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Chapter: Midwest
Year: 2005
Model: Ford Taurus
Engine: 3.0L 24v Duratec V6
Posts: 5,797
Rep Power: 73
     
Trader Score: 0 reviews
IF the engine runs, it isnt a CKP problem, as tach gets its signal from CKP. G4 (at least later G4s) get this signal via the PCM as Sam said, but I am not 100% sure if the G3 is the same.

Could be as simple as a loose / corroded connector to the cluster. Happened a few years ago on my 88 Turbo Coupe (electronically driven speedo & odometer). Speedo / odometer quit one day. Pulled cluster and cleaned cluster connectors / contacts. Put it back together. Has worked fine ever since.

05 Taurus SEL Duratec - my daily driver
04 Taurus SES Duratec - wifes car
95 Taurus GL Vulcan winter car
Toy #1 - 86 Tbird 5.0 (original owner) - LOTS of mods
Toy #2 - 88 Tbird Turbo Coupe - LOTS of mods
67 Honda 450 Super Sport - completely customized
Jeff K is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-01-2012, 10:35 AM
Devoted Member
 
mjhpadi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Chapter: Northeast
Posts: 1,506
Rep Power: 20
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
As long as were on this subject, we have a similar problem in our 99 Sable. The tach may or may not operate...sometimes it seems to work fine, then other times it will show really high revs, or will show rpms as the car goes through shifting gears and as it upshifts to 3rd, the tach will die and show no rpms. Car runs fine just the tach is very "iffy" about working....any suggestions?

2010 Ford Taurus SHO-Livernois 4+X Tune, Airaid CAI, Caliper Covers, Tinted Taillights, Tinted Headlights, LED Interior Lighting, LED Puddle Lamps and License Lights, SHO Hood Stripes, Rearranged Trunk Badging, 3 Bar MAP Sensor, 160 Evenflo Thermostat, V3 Triton Switchback LED Front Parking/Turn Signal, EBC Slotted/Dimpled Rotors w/EBC Yellowstuff Pads
2013 Ford Explorer Limited-Wife's Tow Vehicle
1999 Ford Taurus SE Wagon-'Our Family Truckster"
mjhpadi is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-01-2012, 04:26 PM
Ben
I Drive A Fuze
 
Ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Longmeadow, MA
Chapter: Northeast
Posts: 3,053
Rep Power: 31
  
Trader Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breeves002 View Post
But it goes through the PCM according to this electrical diagram I'm looking at. Maybe it's wrong. This is for a 99'. I mean doesn't the PCM need to know the engine speed lol? Of course it does.

I can't find the dang diagram again. If you guys say it doesn't go to the PCM before the cluster I'll believe you!

Nick, I love how you say "E-Z" instead of "easy". It's just always made me chuckle.
Haha, um I don't remember how I came up with that answer last night, I was half asleep...Guess it sounded right or I wouldn't have posted it! I think my school of thought was that it wouldn't go through the PCM on earlier cars, but it would due to the Info Center on new cars because of ETM. I dunno.

2012 Fusion Sport, 56k miles, White Platinum Tri-coat. Every option except nav. 28% tint, Diode Dynamics LEDs, Steeda CAI, Steeda 93 octane SCT Tune, Steeda 22.5mm RSB, Magnaflow Catback, Enkei Raijin

[SOLD]2004 SEL Premium, 72,700 miles, Vibrant White. 35% Tint, K&N Panel filter, Remote Start, 4x Infinity Reference 6832cf, JVC KW-R800BT, Rockford Fosgate 501bd, Bazooka BT1014

The Toy
1989 Mustang LX 5.0 Vert, White, T5, built motor/driveline, race suspension, fast/loud as f*ck
Ben is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-01-2012, 04:58 PM
Sam
breeves002

 
Sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Chapter: Midwest
Year: 2008
Model: Mercury Sable
Engine: 3.5L Ti-VCT V6
Posts: 6,556
Rep Power: 93
       
Garage
Trader Score: 8 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04 SEL View Post
Haha, um I don't remember how I came up with that answer last night, I was half asleep...Guess it sounded right or I wouldn't have posted it! I think my school of thought was that it wouldn't go through the PCM on earlier cars, but it would due to the Info Center on new cars because of ETM. I dunno.
I see why you would think that. Anyone chime in on this? Does it go to the PCM then to the tach? Or does the CKP send a signal to the PCM and tach separately.

Sam

GET YOUR 2015 TCCA SHIRT HERE:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


2008 Mercury Sable Premier
2014 Ford Focus Electric
1997 Mercury Grand Marquis GS
1991 BMW 850i E31 M70 V12
Moved On: 2000 Sable LS Premium Duratec
Sam is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-01-2012, 07:04 PM Thread Starter
Crazy Devoted Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter: Midwest
Year: 1998
Model: Mercury Sable
Engine: 3.0L 24v Duratec V6
Posts: 17,781
Rep Power: 85
    
Trader Score: 1 reviews
Mjhpadi, maybe our 99tecs' tachs are cursed, like their vss'. I'll pull the cluster tomorrow and check/clean connections, etc. If that fails, may grab a tach or entire cluster from the self service salvage yard.

Last edited by sheila; 12-01-2012 at 07:06 PM.
sheila is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome