Check Engine light but no codes present - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto Loans
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-31-2011, 06:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 39830
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 95 Sable 3.0
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 15
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
rdw462 has a spectacular aura about
Default Check Engine light but no codes present

Anyone have any ideas on this problem I am having? 95 Sable, 3.0, 295,000 miles on it. Check engine light comes on but never sets a code. Have driven it with the scanner hooked up and the light comes on but no code. Think I have issolated it to the fuel system. If I leave the gas cap tight the light will come on and the car will run like it is missing 3 cylinders. If I loosen the cap while it is doing this the car will start to smooth out but the light will remain on sometimes. As long as the cap is loose the car runs good but the light will come of and on, particuarly if driving up hill with a load on it. I saw a post on here suggesting that the T fitting under the radiator could be of an issue since I do smell fuel fumes from time to time. The fitting was clean but I did try to blow air through the vapor line that runs to the tank. There is not any air coming out of the tank but the air is coming out of a small vent hose that is running with the fuel and vapor line near the fuel filter. Should air be coming from the tank and not this vent line? Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
rdw462 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-31-2011, 06:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 39840
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 2004 SES 24VDOHC
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 6
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
red78ta is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Your gas cap may not be venting, a simple $5 try would be to buy a replacement cap and see if that fixes the problem. Leaving the cap loose and that fixing the problem tends to suggest that to me.
red78ta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 07:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 39830
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 95 Sable 3.0
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 15
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
rdw462 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Already tried that and it did not cure the issue. But thanks for suggesting it.
rdw462 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 09:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Technical Advisor
 
Member Number: 11378
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 4,824
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 62
Jeff K has a reputation beyond reputeJeff K has a reputation beyond reputeJeff K has a reputation beyond reputeJeff K has a reputation beyond repute
Default

This may be a dumb question, but are you running the complete code test, including the CM part of the KOEO test? When you say "no codes" do you mean no code output or you get a pass (111) code?
__________________
05 Taurus SEL Duratec - my daily driver
04 Taurus SES Duratec - wifes car
95 Taurus GL Vulcan winter car
Toy #1 - 86 Tbird 5.0 (original owner) - LOTS of mods
Toy #2 - 88 Tbird Turbo Coupe - LOTS of mods
02 Pontiac Grand Prix GT
67 Honda 450 Super Sport - completely customized
Jeff K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 11:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 39830
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 95 Sable 3.0
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 15
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
rdw462 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Yes I am getting code 111. No other codes are present at all including the CM part of the scan.
rdw462 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 11:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 39830
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 95 Sable 3.0
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 15
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
rdw462 has a spectacular aura about
Default

And once it gets hot and sets for about 5 minutes it will not start again until the car has cooled back down, maybe an hour or so.
rdw462 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 11:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Crazy Devoted Member
 
Member Number: 10865
Join Date: Dec 2006
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 11,810
Trader Score: 1 reviews
Rep Power: 49
sheila is a glorious beacon of lightsheila is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Tfi, pip?
sheila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 07:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Technical Advisor
 
Member Number: 11378
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 4,824
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 62
Jeff K has a reputation beyond reputeJeff K has a reputation beyond reputeJeff K has a reputation beyond reputeJeff K has a reputation beyond repute
Default

^^^^ +1

Classic EEC IV TFI and/or PIP failing symptoms. SOmetimes TFI/PIP set CM codes when failing, but quite often, they dont.
__________________
05 Taurus SEL Duratec - my daily driver
04 Taurus SES Duratec - wifes car
95 Taurus GL Vulcan winter car
Toy #1 - 86 Tbird 5.0 (original owner) - LOTS of mods
Toy #2 - 88 Tbird Turbo Coupe - LOTS of mods
02 Pontiac Grand Prix GT
67 Honda 450 Super Sport - completely customized
Jeff K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 04:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 39830
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 95 Sable 3.0
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 15
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
rdw462 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Thank you for the advice. I will dig into these next. Is there a method to testing either one of them?
rdw462 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 06:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 39830
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 95 Sable 3.0
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 15
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
rdw462 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Replaced both the distributor and the ignition module and still have the same condition.
rdw462 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2