Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

How much tranny fluid?

87K views 25 replies 9 participants last post by  Lgbpop 
#1 ·
I'm new to the Taurus and am trying to learn. Help is needed. How much transmission fluid is needed if I only drop the pan and change the filter? The manual that I have only gives the quantity needed if the transmission and torque converter is completely dry. Thanks.

#2 ·
Whatever it takes to refill it.

I drop the pan and change the filter every 12k - 15k miles. I have (8) qts. on hand when I do. It usually takes (7) qts., (+,-).

This has been true for both the AXOD and AXN4's.

When refilling, I'll put in 4-5 qts., then briefly start it up and shift from Park to 1 and back, and shut it off. Restart it and check the level. Shut it off and add somemore and repeat the above procedure until it's full.

Then I 'll test drive it and check again. I continue to watch the ATF level for a day or two until it's reached a steady state.

In (18) years of driving (6) Taurii with automatics, I've only lost one trans, and that was at 190K on the '87 Wagon AXOD.

#6 · (Edited)
Hi sheila,

Just for the record, my 2000 Taurus SES (v6 Duratec) owners manual says "Mercon V" for the tranny, and plain old "Mercon®" for the Power Steering. Not sure if that makes a lot of difference in the Power Steering unit.

I did see this thread: http://www.taurusclub.com/forum/87-engine-drivetrain/168920-mercon-vs-mercon-v-2.html. Looks like that thread is mainly about fluid for the tranny, and not fluid for the Power Steering.

Hmmm . . .

P.S. Note that some older Fords specifically require "Type F" tranny fluid in the Power Steering.

#5 ·