Gas Cap Light - Page 2 - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-07-2009, 08:35 PM
Devoted Member
 
mmmfloorpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,968
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to mmmfloorpie Send a message via MSN to mmmfloorpie Send a message via Yahoo to mmmfloorpie
Did you reset the code? From my experience with other Fords, the gas cap light can come on if you just go to the gas station once and forget to tighten the cap down... My mom had a 2001 Explorer, and the "Check Gage" light would come on if the cap wasn't on correctly...

Once it's on though, it takes a while to clear in the system even after the problem is fixed... I would definately clear the code first and then see if it comes back... When I bought a Stant InstaFill cap for my Taurus, the SES light (before there was a dedicated gas cap light) came on and the code was for low gas tank pressure or whatever it was (I forget the exact wording)... That's what the garage where I bought it from told me anyways. After that I went against their advice and kept using the Stant cap. The light came on again and after a couple weeks, it cleared itself and I haven't had the light come on for that reason again...

I think in some cases it can be a pretty fickle light and I wouldn't neccessarily run out to buy a new gas cap... That's just my opinion though!


This jellybean's got a hard candy coating

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

mmmfloorpie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-07-2009, 09:13 PM
Crazy Devoted Member
 
ford_ses's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Chapter: Northeast
Posts: 7,801
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to ford_ses
Doesn't the Gen 3 still have a threaded gas cap? The G4 has a cap that latches instead of threading in - usually if the gas cap light on a G4 is coming on, the cap needs to be replaced.

If it's significantly cheaper than the dealer, I wouldn't worry too much about trying the newest junkyard cap you can find.

Jim S. - Pittsburgh, PA


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2011 Ford Fusion SEL - Duratec25/6F35, 31k and counting
2001 Ford Taurus SES - Vulcan/AX4S, 190k and counting

1988 Pontiac Fiero GT - 2.8 V6/Getrag 282

Past:
1993 Taurus GL | 2002 Escort ZX2
Also in the Family: 2010 Fusion Sport | 2001 Toyota Camry LE V6
ford_ses is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-07-2009, 09:18 PM
Devoted Member
 
Andrew L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Kingstown, RI
Posts: 1,318
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Andrew L Send a message via Yahoo to Andrew L
QUOTE (ford_ses @ Apr 7 2009, 09:13 PM)
Quote:
Doesn't the Gen 3 still have a threaded gas cap? The G4 has a cap that latches instead of threading in - usually if the gas cap light on a G4 is coming on, the cap needs to be replaced.

If it's significantly cheaper than the dealer, I wouldn't worry too much about trying the newest junkyard cap you can find.[/b]
G3 has the latch where you screw till it snaps in place


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Andrew L is offline  
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-07-2009, 09:22 PM
Crazy Devoted Member
 
ford_ses's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Chapter: Northeast
Posts: 7,801
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to ford_ses
Ah - the G4 doesn't screw in. It turns maybe a quarter turn and latches...I've only put gas in a G3 once and I don't remember what it was like

Jim S. - Pittsburgh, PA


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2011 Ford Fusion SEL - Duratec25/6F35, 31k and counting
2001 Ford Taurus SES - Vulcan/AX4S, 190k and counting

1988 Pontiac Fiero GT - 2.8 V6/Getrag 282

Past:
1993 Taurus GL | 2002 Escort ZX2
Also in the Family: 2010 Fusion Sport | 2001 Toyota Camry LE V6
ford_ses is offline  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-07-2009, 10:02 PM
Devoted Member
 
mediarocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, AL
Chapter: Southeast
Posts: 2,492
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
QUOTE (ford_ses @ Apr 7 2009, 09:22 PM)
Quote:
Ah - the G4 doesn't screw in. It turns maybe a quarter turn and latches...I've only put gas in a G3 once and I don't remember what it was like [/b]
My G3 turns a quarter turn then latches as well...

-2007 Mazda Axela (3s sport) "Ai", 2.3L MZR DOHC I4, 5F31J T-ATX True Red
-SOLD-1999 Jeep TJ Wrangler, AMC 150 OHV I-4, Aisin-Warner AX-5 MTX Flame Red
-TOTALED-1996 Ford Taurus GL "Able", 3.0L OHV V6 Vulcan, AX4N ATX Toreador Red

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac XLT, 4.0L SOHC Cologne V6, 5R55E ATX Silver Birch Metallic
-2007 Nissan Quest 3.5SE, 3.5L VQ35DE DOHC V6, RE5F22A ATX Silver Mist Metallic
Lights on for safety!
mediarocker is offline  
post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-07-2009, 11:49 PM
Crazy Devoted Member
 
shoz123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ashkum, Illinois
Posts: 14,122
Rep Power: 56
 
Trader Score: 4 reviews
The emission codes take quite a while to reset on their own unless the ambient conditions are just right. I would get a new cap not worth the trouble for a JY one.

Paul Nimz
'10 Red Genesis Coupe
'08 Hyundai Accent
shoz123 is offline  
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-16-2009, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
Devoted Member
 
risoworker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,467
Rep Power: 34
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to risoworker Send a message via MSN to risoworker
Well i got the new gas cap, and reset the light.

today the light comes back on, i get the code pulled
and the guy tells me P0457 missing, loose, or defective cap.

what are the odds it's the gas cap again?

any other things to look for.
bryan
risoworker is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-16-2009, 06:18 PM
Devoted Member
 
mmmfloorpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,968
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to mmmfloorpie Send a message via MSN to mmmfloorpie Send a message via Yahoo to mmmfloorpie
It's funny because I had my SES light come on this week for a P0442 which is the gas cap/emissions system leak code... It's my InStant fuel cap though... I just reset the code and it hasn't come back!

This jellybean's got a hard candy coating

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

mmmfloorpie is offline  
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-16-2009, 07:37 PM
Devoted Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boston Mass. area
Posts: 1,096
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Just yesterday Nidan gave a succinct description of the workings, post #3 of this thread: http://taurusclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=68999

But I can't find anything in my 04 manual for P0457 (but I don't have the power control / emissions manual). I'd think a biggish vacuum or air leak in the fuel system, equivalent to a missing cap, would result in strong gas fumes.

The pressure sensor itself is somewhere in the evap system above the gas tank. Maybe the sensor is failing?

1986 MT-4 4-cylinder (R.I.P. circa 1990, rust, clutch)
1994 Station Wagon (R.I.P. circa 9/2005)
1991 Station Wagon (R.I.P. 1/2007, but the Benz that pulled out in front was bent much worse)
1998 SE Station Wagon (R.I.P. 2/28/09 at ~186k)
2004 Taurus SE w/Vulcan & AX4N | dark shadow gray metallic | gray cloth interior | still strong at 192K+
2000 Taurus SE wagon w/Vulcan & AX4S / tropic green metallic | gray cloth interior | purchased 6/12 at 51k miles
OldWagon is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-28-2009, 09:18 AM Thread Starter
Devoted Member
 
risoworker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,467
Rep Power: 34
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to risoworker Send a message via MSN to risoworker
I need some more help.

I went under the car and took down that black platic box under the trunk.
full of sand and twigs, and i made sure all the hoses were attached and not cracked and
all looked fine.

The only hose i could not check was going upto the filler neck.
how do i check that?
are there any other things to check?
could the new gas cap be defective?

BTW How can my entire car underneath have no rust but it's all on my rear quarter panel.
risoworker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome