Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

Tips On How To Remove A/c Compressor Clutch

150K views 78 replies 43 participants last post by  Derrick2001 
#1 ·
I'm a newbie here. Just found this forum and it has a lot of great info.
I need to swap my a/c compressor clutch assembly including the pulley and coil.
I got in there but for the life of me I can't figure out how to do it without taking the compressor out.
I'd like to avoid that if possible so that I don't have to get the system vacuumed and recharged.
Do you know where I can find directions? Thanks.

#3 ·
Remove the Negative battery cable.
Raise the car and support the car on jack stands. Just to the rear of the rear sub-frame mounts there are"rails" under the car, put the stands there as you will be dropping the sub-frame.
Disconnect the dog bone dampener.
Remove the serpentine belt.
Remove the right front wheel/tire assembly.
Disconnect the right side end link from either end, complete removal is NOT necessary.
Remove the right side strut pinch bolt.
Remove the little bolt that holds the brake line to the strut. 10mm I believe.
Place your jack under the passenger's side of the sub-frame near the control arm.
Remove the two sub-frame bolts on that side.
Lower the jack, slowly, to a position that you can see the A/C clutch.
It may be necessary to remove the front sub-frame bolt on the driver's side, but the last 3 vehicles I've done it wasn't necessary.
After you've got the cradle dropped, you should see the center bolt for the clutch. 8mm IIRC. Remove it and the front plate should come off with a little help of a screw driver and wiggling it a bit.