How Do I Get Trouble Codes - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-18-2008, 02:05 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
How do I get the trouble codes from my 93 Taurus 3.8. Car stalls once in a great while, but then starts up after 5-10 minutes, then runs for a few days.
Any Ideas?

Billy Goat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-18-2008, 02:31 PM
Crazy Devoted Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 15,578
Rep Power: 59
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to godspunk32
There is a way to check them yourself with a test light, but without searching, I don't know how. I would assume that Autozone can check OBD-I codes.

Do you have a check engine light?

JR


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

godspunk32 is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-18-2008, 02:46 PM
Crazy Devoted Member
 
shoz123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ashkum, Illinois
Posts: 14,123
Rep Power: 57
 
Trader Score: 4 reviews
Here's how to do it on the old stuff...

http://www.shotimes.com/php-bin/modules.ph...ld=0&sid=83

Paul Nimz
'10 Red Genesis Coupe
'08 Hyundai Accent
shoz123 is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-18-2008, 03:47 PM
Devoted Member
 
fdogg96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Southern California
Chapter: West Coast
Posts: 3,748
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
There is a way to check them yourself with a test light, but without searching, I don't know how. I would assume that Autozone can check OBD-I codes.

Do you have a check engine light?

JR
[/b]
The AZs can only scan OBDIIs. They would say that can't scan OBD1. The customer has to buy an OBD1 scanner and scan it him/herself.

1993 V6 3.2L SHO

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Clubs: SHOCAL & SHOForum

Past VP - TCCA West Coast Chapter
fdogg96 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-19-2008, 06:34 AM
Crazy Devoted Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 15,578
Rep Power: 59
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to godspunk32
Sounds like BS to me. The OBD-I scanners are hella cheap, I can't imagine an Autozone not carrying one of those, but carrying a $150 OBD-II scanner.

JR


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

godspunk32 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-19-2008, 09:59 AM
Crazy Devoted Member
 
shoz123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ashkum, Illinois
Posts: 14,123
Rep Power: 57
 
Trader Score: 4 reviews
The AZs around me will not read the codes from pre-'96 cars.

Paul Nimz
'10 Red Genesis Coupe
'08 Hyundai Accent
shoz123 is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-19-2008, 03:43 PM
Devoted Member
 
darthenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 1,143
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
My old neon was an OBD-1, and I could check the codes by turning the key on-off-on-off-on and counting the number of times the check engine light would blink. I dunno if the old Fords did the same thing, but it's possible.

Good luck!

"It isn't what you drive that matters, it's how you drive it"
- Jeremy Clarkson, Top Gear

Ford: Taurus ('91, '01) Focus ('09)
Mercury: Sable ('95)
Dodge: Neon ('95)
Trek: 1000SL ('07)
darthenstein is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-21-2008, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 918
Rep Power: 0
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
My old neon was an OBD-1, and I could check the codes by turning the key on-off-on-off-on and counting the number of times the check engine light would blink. I dunno if the old Fords did the same thing, but it's possible.

Good luck!
[/b]
I remember being able to do that on some of the older cars we had around.. most were fords.
ParagonXL is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-21-2008, 07:32 AM
Crazy Devoted Member
 
firespirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Portage, IN
Chapter: Midwest
Posts: 10,632
Rep Power: 49
 
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Sounds like BS to me. The OBD-I scanners are hella cheap, I can't imagine an Autozone not carrying one of those, but carrying a $150 OBD-II scanner.

JR
[/b]
It's true. Our AZ doesn't carry free code checks on pre-96 cars. My friend has an OBD-I equipped truck and he eventually broke down and went to a shop to figure out what the problem was with it. Turns out it was his cats.

__________________
Best Car Insurance | Auto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
firespirit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome