Crank Position Sensor Location - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto LoansInsurance
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2008, 06:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 12123
Join Date: May 2007
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
not_relevant has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Guys, I have searched all over for a pic of where the crank position sensor is located. I have a Ford service cd but the picture is awful and the instructions are to jack up the car and then replace it. I have a 2002 Sable with the Duratec engine. Does the Chilton or Haynes manual show it better? Much thanks.
not_relevant is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-17-2008, 09:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
DaveX 3.0's Avatar
 
Member Number: 13722
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Methuen, MA
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 1996 Ford Taurus G 3.0 OHV "Vulcan" No longer with us. :(
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1,318
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 16
DaveX 3.0 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Well, I'm not 100% sure about the duratec, but I know the vulcan has it externally mounted behind the crank pulley. Perhaps the 'tec has it there too? It wouldn't hurt to check.
__________________
Currently driving a 2009 Focus SE Sedan w/5-Speed!

Previous cars:
1997 Geo Prizm
1996 Ford Taurus G

Formerly "Mr. X"
DaveX 3.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 09:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Member Number: 8940
Join Date: Jun 2006
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 327
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
madhatter256 has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Just look for wires hooking up to your engine near the bottom just over the oil pan. It should be just 2 wires hooked up to a connector attached to the engine.
madhatter256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 11:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Crazy Devoted Member
 
spridget's Avatar
 
Member Number: 140
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: In a shed, doing maths
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 9,959
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
spridget has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via Yahoo to spridget
Default




The pic shows '99. '02 is similar.
spridget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 09:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 12123
Join Date: May 2007
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
not_relevant has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

The pic shows '99. '02 is similar.
[/quote]

Thanks to everyone! I will pick up the part today and try to get it in tomorrow.
not_relevant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 12:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Crazy Devoted Member
 
spridget's Avatar
 
Member Number: 140
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: In a shed, doing maths
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 9,959
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
spridget has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via Yahoo to spridget
Default

It's probably easiest to access the sensor from the side, with the wheel and inner fender liners removed.
spridget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 12:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 12123
Join Date: May 2007
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
not_relevant has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Well, got it done. Had to remove the fender well cover as was suggested. I also had to remove another inner cover on the inside of the firewall above the tire (2 screws, no big deal) and a metal bracket that was covering up the sensor bolt. Removed 3 fasteners on side and loosened 2 on bottom and slid it out then it was a piece of cake. The sensor solved the no start problem. My symptoms were intermittent hard starting without any check engine light until it completely refused to start. I did pull a code for cylinder misfires but it did not trigger the light. Thanks for the help and hopefully this thread will clue someone in with their issues when the time comes.
not_relevant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 12:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
ill_noiz's Avatar
 
Member Number: 11855
Join Date: Apr 2007
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 103
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
ill_noiz has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Does anyone have a pic of the sensor location
ill_noiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 07:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
Member Number: 36682
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NY State
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: Sable LS Premium '03 Sable LS '01
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 2,821
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 22
chartmaker is a glorious beacon of lightchartmaker is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by not_relevant View Post
Guys, I have searched all over for a pic of where the crank position sensor is located. I have a Ford service cd but the picture is awful and the instructions are to jack up the car and then replace it. I have a 2002 Sable with the Duratec engine. Does the Chilton or Haynes manual show it better? Much thanks.
I took one off the Pick A Part.

Real pain for the bolt.

To find it, remove the pas side wheel, pull back the inner fender on the front side of the axle.

It is to the rear of the crank pulley, behind a brace. There is a wire support for O2 in the way, remove it.

The bolt is 8mm or 5/16, either equal.

quarter inch socket, deep wall and rachet will losen the bolt. Getting the bolt out is a hassle as there is not a straight shot around the brace to the bolt, it is at an angle. The sensor just pulls out, has an O-ring to seal it.

-chart-
chartmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 08:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member
 
Member Number: 3617
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texas
Chapter: Southern
Drives: 2000 Taurus SE, 3.0L Duratec
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 414
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
topgunovrtx has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Crankshaft Position Sensor Replacement, 2000 Duratec

Location: Just to the rear of the crankshaft pulley damper, covered by a bracket.

. Disconnect negative battery cable.

. Place front of vehicle on jack stands.

. Remove right front wheel.

. Remove fender liner (front half only).

. Remove alternator splash shield (two 5.5mm screws).

. Remove bottom alternator bolt (13mm) and shield.

. Remove bracket covering CKP Sensor, by removing three 13mm side bolts, loosening both 10mm bottom nuts, and sliding the bracket out.

. Remove serpentine belt.

. Remove top front alternator bolt (18mm) and rotate alternator clockwise enough to remove CKP Sensor.

. Remove and replace CKP Sensor (8mm).

<><
topgunovrtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2