Random P0300 Code | Intermittent - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto LoansInsurance
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-26-2007, 12:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
michakaveli's Avatar
 
Member Number: 13634
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Chapter: Southeast
Drives: 2011 Ford Taurus SE
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 671
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
michakaveli has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to michakaveli
Default

I bought the code reader at Harbor Freight Tools and I have been getting these P0300 codes, sometimes they read as pending, without the actual CEL illuminating.

The car has been running well since I had the fuel pump replaced and the fuel rail sensor replaced. Sometimes when it starts it may stightly hesitate, but it's gotten a lot better since those repairs.

Any thoughts? Mileage is around 23-24 MPG combined city and hwy
michakaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-26-2007, 01:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
Member Number: 3969
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Martin, MI
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4.6
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 253
Trader Score: 1 reviews
Rep Power: 0
rdh2 has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Are you erasing the codes after checking them? If you are, and the code keeps returning, it is likely an ignition issue.

I had P0300 and P0316 on my '02 and by replacing the spark plugs and wires, the codes went away.
__________________
2003 Mercury Grand Marquis

2002 Taurus SE "Evelyn" 221K+ miles 3.0 Vulcan AX4S - RIP
1995 Taurus GL "Bonnie" 72000 miles 3.0 Vulcan AX4N - RIP

If you need help with a Taurus problem, feel free to PM me or www.taurusowners.com
rdh2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 01:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
michakaveli's Avatar
 
Member Number: 13634
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Chapter: Southeast
Drives: 2011 Ford Taurus SE
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 671
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
michakaveli has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to michakaveli
Default

Quote:
Are you erasing the codes after checking them? If you are, and the code keeps returning, it is likely an ignition issue.

I had P0300 and P0316 on my '02 and by replacing the spark plugs and wires, the codes went away.
[/b]

I do erase the code after it appears. I have replaced the plugs but not the wires. I assume that's a safe bet next. I'm at 79K on my Taurus Vulcan
michakaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 09:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
Member Number: 3350
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 3,686
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
Nidan has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via MSN to Nidan
Default

It could also be an intermittent fuel problem, like a sticking or leaking injector, or the coil pack itself.
__________________
I have a tendancy to wear my mind on my sleeve. I have a history of losing my shirt.

- Barenaked Ladies
(it suits me so well sometimes, heh)
Nidan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 10:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
michakaveli's Avatar
 
Member Number: 13634
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Chapter: Southeast
Drives: 2011 Ford Taurus SE
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 671
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
michakaveli has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to michakaveli
Default

*UPDATE*

I replaced the plugs wires with some AZ units. Performance of the engien has improved as the engine runs smoother, less vibration in the steering wheel. But the P0300 code still comes on or is pending, per my code reader. After I replaced the plug wires I topped the tank w/ 93 and took a 350-400 mile trip. I set the cruise control for about 78-79mph on the way to my destination and averaged 25.5mpg. Awesome for approx. 190 mile journey. On the way back I filled up with 87 octane, and yielded only 23.4 mpg. Both Hess stations but different locations.


This morning when I started the car (in the high 20's) it started with the revs going to 1k then usually they drop to 300-500rpm and come back up to 1,500 until it settles @ approx. 1k. It does this routine every morning but this morning it actually stalled when it dropped to it's 300rpm range and never came back up. It stumbled for a second or two. When I attempted to start it again it started with no issue. The engine runs smooth, no other abnormalities.
I check the ECM with my code reader after and I had a "pending" P0300 which I cleared....

I'm leaning towards replacing the coil pack. Otherwise the car runs fine. When I start it later in the day she comes to normally. Most people would probably leave it alon but I don't feel like getting stuck somewhere.


Any thoughts?
michakaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 11:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Crazy Devoted Member
 
shoz123's Avatar
 
Member Number: 125
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ashkum, Illinois
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 14,111
Trader Score: 4 reviews
Rep Power: 0
shoz123 has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

What kind of plugs?

FWIW 93 octane will actually burn cooler than 87 octane.
__________________
Paul Nimz
'10 Red Genesis Coupe
'08 Hyundai Accent
shoz123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 12:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
michakaveli's Avatar
 
Member Number: 13634
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Chapter: Southeast
Drives: 2011 Ford Taurus SE
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 671
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
michakaveli has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to michakaveli
Default

Quote:
What kind of plugs?

FWIW 93 octane will actually burn cooler than 87 octane.
[/b]
The plugs are Autolite Double Platinums from Autozone. I read one of the threads regarding spark plugs and went with an OEM like replacement. checked the gaps on all plugs before installation
michakaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 01:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
Member Number: 849
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lake Dallas Texas
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 295
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
bob woods has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to bob woods Send a message via Yahoo to bob woods
Default

I had that code on my '97 a few years ago, changed the wires first, still got the code, then replaced the coil pack, problem solved.
bob woods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 02:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
Member Number: 3350
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 3,686
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
Nidan has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via MSN to Nidan
Default

If you remove the coil pack and look at the underside, you may see some small cracks. If you do, it's junk. If you don't, it may still be ok. Often failed coil packs have tiny cracks in them which allows moisture in and causes the problems. You usually notice the problem more in the morning, when the car has been sittin overnight and moisture can accumulate, or when driving in wet weather. Often, it can be duplicated by spraying water on the coil with the engine running. It'll often start to miss when you do that, indicating a coil problem.

__________________
I have a tendancy to wear my mind on my sleeve. I have a history of losing my shirt.

- Barenaked Ladies
(it suits me so well sometimes, heh)
Nidan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 10:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
michakaveli's Avatar
 
Member Number: 13634
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Chapter: Southeast
Drives: 2011 Ford Taurus SE
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 671
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
michakaveli has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to michakaveli
Default

*UPDATE*

since the last post I have purchased a replacement coil pack from AZ w/ no difference in performance.

The OEM coil pack looks remarkable, not visible cracking inthe underside, actually looks just as good as the repalcement unit I installed.

I occasionally receive the P0300 codes as an actual DTC or Pending Fault...

I am thinking that it could be the CPS? The engine does not have a consistent behavior pattern, but nothing to drastic enought to cause driveability issues or engine stalling to date...

Thoughts on potentially bad CPS anyone? Any guidance requested...
michakaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2