Alert! Dorman Cam Synchronizer Assembly! - Page 9 - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto Loans
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-07-2008, 09:23 PM   #81 (permalink)
Member
 
Member Number: 1818
Join Date: Nov 2003
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 222
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
green has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Rockauto now sales the genuine motocraft synchronizer. Cost is $95
green is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-10-2008, 12:26 PM   #82 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 8816
Join Date: Jun 2006
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 42
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
jlpiccard has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Mine just started chirping yesterday afternoon, so I was looking at various brands online. I was considering buying the Dorman, but wanted to check here first. Boy, am I glad I did. That could have been a very costly mistake. Im looking at other brands now, and will probably go with either the Motorcraft or Reman A1Cardone part. Thanks - this forum is a lifesaver. It looks like I just saved myself a ton of trouble.

Edited to add: Just found the Motorcraft part at Rock Auto for $79 + shipping & handling. Decided to go with that option. Thanks again guys.
jlpiccard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 02:36 PM   #83 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 8816
Join Date: Jun 2006
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 42
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
jlpiccard has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Quote:
I want to get a genuine Motorcraft camshaft sync, and sensor. Can someone please refer me to a online site to order the camshaft sync, and pos sensor. No time to go to a Ford Dealer, would prefer an online source.

TIA,

Billymach4
[/b]

Hey Billymach4 (or anyone else that may be looking for the Motorcraft parts),

As green mentioned, Rockauto is selling the Motorcraft parts now. One thing I found when I was looking today is that you can go to Motorcaft's website and search for parts by the VIN number. That brings up the correct configuration for your vehicle. Then, you can search by part # in Rockauto. This brings the part right up without having to go through the vehicle search option in Rockauto, and it helps ensure you are getting the correct part for your particular vehicle.

Someone may have mentioned this method earlier, but I thought I'd mention it.
jlpiccard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 03:18 PM   #84 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 15142
Join Date: Mar 2008
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
billymach4 has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Quote:
<div class='quotemain'>
I want to get a genuine Motorcraft camshaft sync, and sensor. Can someone please refer me to a online site to order the camshaft sync, and pos sensor. No time to go to a Ford Dealer, would prefer an online source.

TIA,

Billymach4
[/b]

Hey Billymach4 (or anyone else that may be looking for the Motorcraft parts),

As green mentioned, Rockauto is selling the Motorcraft parts now. One thing I found when I was looking today is that you can go to Motorcaft's website and search for parts by the VIN number. That brings up the correct configuration for your vehicle. Then, you can search by part # in Rockauto. This brings the part right up without having to go through the vehicle search option in Rockauto, and it helps ensure you are getting the correct part for your particular vehicle.

Someone may have mentioned this method earlier, but I thought I'd mention it.
[/b][/quote]


Thanks for the info. I ended up getting mine from fastpartsnetwork. Just got done changing the Sync. Will post pics. Boy do I feel good about this. It worked out well thanks to all of the info here!!!


billymach4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 08:18 PM   #85 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
Member Number: 8024
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Orlando, Florida
Chapter: Northeast
Drives: 2006 SE Flex Fuel 75k
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1,110
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 20
paker has a spectacular aura about
Default

What is this part called? I searched for camshaft synchronizer at fastpartsnetwork but no hit.
Also, at RockAuto, I enter with keyword "camshaft synchronizer" it shows under engine. But when it is not listed for my car. Can someone give me a lead? Miine started chirping. Thanks.

PS: Dorman synchrornizers are sold at many online stores. Have they corrected the problem? Does anyone know?
__________________
06 Taurus SE, 97 F150, 08 Impala
paker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 05:25 PM   #86 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 8816
Join Date: Jun 2006
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 42
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
jlpiccard has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

I had the day off from work today, so I went ahead and replaced my synchronizer and sensor. I'm glad I went with the Motorcraft part - everything fit like a glove. I went ahead and pulled the upper intake manifold because I wanted to replace the plugs and wires at the same time - that made it a little easier. It took me about 2 1/2 hours to do everything. I drove the car around for a while this afternoon to test everything and give the computer some 'relearn' time. Looks like all is well so far - it runs like new now, with no obvious leaks as of yet.


Thanks again for the warning about the Dorman part.
jlpiccard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 08:26 PM   #87 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 15418
Join Date: Apr 2008
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 60
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
Dave A has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

I read about all of these synchronizers being replaced but I dont hear how people are timing them...whether they are marking them, and getting them in close or whether they are using the special tool and procedure or whether they are just getting replaced without being timed.
Dave A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 09:10 PM   #88 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
thebbbrain's Avatar
 
Member Number: 13098
Join Date: Aug 2007
Drives: 2001 Taurus 'Betsy' 3.0 OHV Vulcan - 203K+
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 70
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
thebbbrain has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Quote:
I read about all of these synchronizers being replaced but I dont hear how people are timing them...whether they are marking them, and getting them in close or whether they are using the special tool and procedure or whether they are just getting replaced without being timed.
[/b]
If you are careful when you mark them I used a photo and marks, and pull them out they go in pretty easy. Either they are way off or dead on. The teeth are so big that you'll know if your marks aren't lining up. As long as the new one is lined up exactly like the old one is, you're good to go.

thebbbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 09:31 PM   #89 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 12964
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: a rural wasteland
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 30
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
Big Remi has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Luckily I haven't heard the dreaded squeaking yet, although I suspect it was changed before I got the car at the local dealer meaning I have a Motorcraft replacement. Anyway, the shocking part about the synchro and other part failures is this: DORMAN IS NOT A CHINESE BASED COMPANY!!!! THEY'RE BASED RIGHT HERE IN THE USA IN PENNSYLVANIA!!! They could easily make the parts in the USA/Canada, but in the typical US corporation way, Dorman sells their soul to China in exchange for crappy, subpar auto parts. To prove I'm not crazy, here's their website address: Dorman Products Website Click on Corporate Info to see what I mean.
Big Remi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 07:52 PM   #90 (permalink)
Member
 
Pro Ford's Avatar
 
Member Number: 11441
Join Date: Feb 2007
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 100
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
Pro Ford has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

UPDATE: ALL the Reman A1CARDONE Units are working flawlessly.
__________________
86 Mustang.....Stock Block 408....Iron Heads....All Motor
Best to Date: 6.40@107.9 mph with a 1.36 60ft. 1/8 mile
Pro Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2