Fuel Gauge Erratic - 2000 Flex Fuel 3.0 - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto Loans
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2006, 01:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 9311
Join Date: Jul 2006
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 16
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
sh01443 has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

2000 Ford Taurus Flex Fuel 3.0, 112,000 miles. Fuel gauge reading erratic. Gauge fluctuates between full and empty no matter what the fuel level is. Am writing this in an effort to prevent an unnecessary fuel sender change.

Was reading online (not on TCCA) and found one other article about the same issue. The owner of that vehicle found that there was a module mounted with one bolt behind and to the bottom left of the climate control module which interfaced the sender with the fuel gauge. It is a 6 pin rectangular module (5 wires are pinned out on the connector side) encased in epoxy, part # YF1U-14A069AA.

Attached are pics of the location & appearance of this module. You will NOT have to remove climate control / radio assembly to access/change this out. Simply get to it from underneath.


$40 from Ford, maybe less elsewhere. Fixed the problem. Cheaper than replacing a $250 sender and a heck of a lot easier (providing you have tested resistance from the sender and found it was good)

Keep in mind, again, this is a FLEX FUEL model, so you may not have this on a standard 3.0.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Location_01.jpg (43.5 KB, 6329 views)
File Type: jpg Location_02.jpg (45.8 KB, 5615 views)
File Type: jpg YF1U14A069AA.jpg (41.1 KB, 5528 views)
sh01443 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-13-2006, 04:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 3574
Join Date: Aug 2004
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 4
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
AaronKamp has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

I had to replace the sender along with the Flex Fuel module when I had this issue.
AaronKamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2007, 09:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 10932
Join Date: Jan 2007
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 3
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
utowner has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

I have had no response from anyone else, but found other internet threads referring to this part YF1Z-14A069-AA. Called dealer and told the price @$45 also; haven't ordered it yet. Please let me know how it works for you. Thanks!.
utowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 08:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 10958
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: West Virginia
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 66
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
gods4us has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Quote:
I have had no response from anyone else, but found other internet threads referring to this part YF1Z-14A069-AA. Called dealer and told the price @$45 also; haven't ordered it yet. Please let me know how it works for you. Thanks!.
[/b]
I just replaced mine last week when my MIL came on.... took 15 mins...and it has worked great since.... the gas gauge no longer "dances" while driving.
__________________
<strike>1989 Ford Escort Pony - 110K</strike> sold for $10.00 to my father in law (needed new clutch and some other parts)
1990 Ford Mustang Convertible 5.0 LX Sport - 72K
2001 Ford Taurus SES FFV - 78K
2005 Dodge Caravan SXT - 20K
2007 Ford Ranger Sport - 0K
gods4us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2007, 02:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
Member Number: 3600
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: columbus ohio
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 135
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
healthcoach dave has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via Yahoo to healthcoach dave
Default

Yes this is an easy replace and is under dash rite around radio, I have a 98
vulacn that reads how many miles left in gas tank and it now works perfect since
I changed that part out, and is very inexpensive.
__________________
OOhhh, What A Feeling to Drive ---My Duratec......!


You're gonna fly away---Glad you're Going my way.......
I Love it when we're Cruisin Together......

Cruise ON.......Tauri - BRO'
healthcoach dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2007, 07:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 7092
Join Date: Jan 2006
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 3
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
xe2clc has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Hi !!! i change in my taurus the part,,, reset the system and!!!! really works, IS ONLY FOR FFV TAURUS,,,
xe2clc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 04:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 11729
Join Date: Mar 2007
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
Dysus has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Quote:
2000 Ford Taurus Flex Fuel 3.0, 112,000 miles. Fuel gauge reading erratic. Gauge fluctuates between full and empty no matter what the fuel level is. Am writing this in an effort to prevent an unnecessary fuel sender change.

Was reading online (not on TCCA) and found one other article about the same issue. The owner of that vehicle found that there was a module mounted with one bolt behind and to the bottom left of the climate control module which interfaced the sender with the fuel gauge. It is a 6 pin rectangular module (5 wires are pinned out on the connector side) encased in epoxy, part # YF1U-14A069AA.

Attached are pics of the location & appearance of this module. You will NOT have to remove climate control / radio assembly to access/change this out. Simply get to it from underneath.


$40 from Ford, maybe less elsewhere. Fixed the problem. Cheaper than replacing a $250 sender and a heck of a lot easier (providing you have tested resistance from the sender and found it was good)

Keep in mind, again, this is a FLEX FUEL model, so you may not have this on a standard 3.0.
[/b]
Thank you SO much for the pictures! I, too, have a 2000 3.0 FlexFuel model. I just replaced my module and the gas gauge works now for the first time since I bought this car. I was told by 4 seperate mechanics it would be a $500+ job because they'd have to drop the tank. Instead, I came across your post and in a matter of 5 minutes, I had to old one out... another half hour to roll down to the dealer and pick up a replacement... popped it in while still in the Ford dealer parking lot. Worked immediately. I went to get gas and kept turning on the key to check it as it filled up... worked beautifully.

The part was $42.92 here in Roanoke, and they had ONE in stock. I told the lady behind the parts counter that she had know idea how much grief this little hunk of epoxy caused me in the last 3 years. I wish I'd heard about this fix sooner. Now I no longer have to guesstimate my fuel level based on mileage.

Thanks again!

Dysus
Dysus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2007, 02:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
Member Number: 3571
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Southern Connecticut
Drives: 04 Sable GS Vulcan
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 401
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
conncarl has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via Yahoo to conncarl
Default

Sh01443, thanks for the excellent writeup and pics. I've been suffering with an erratic fuel gauge for months. $34 for the part, and ten minutes later, problem solved.

Carl
conncarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2007, 09:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 13865
Join Date: Oct 2007
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
flexfuel01 has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Sh01443, I've had the same problem for as long as i've owned my taurus, thank you for your instructions and pictures. I picked up the part last night for $45, installed it right there and the gauge works for the first time and no check engine light. Thanks again.
flexfuel01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 01:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 14995
Join Date: Mar 2008
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
dsp399 has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

I would also like to say thank you. I have had the same problem for over a year and haven't had it fixed because of the outrageous expense I was quoted. I picked up the part for $53 this morning and within 5 minutes had a working gauge. It's great to not have to watch the trip odometer anymore.
dsp399 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2