Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

2000 Taurus Sedan and front n rear springs

3K views 14 replies 6 participants last post by  pontiacinf 
#1 ·
I have been driving my Taurus for about 2 years thinking I had a broken left rear coil spring. Well I took the car in yesterday and sure enough it snapped. Guy told me to replace the set it would right around $300. The phone rang 10 minutes later and guy tells me he will honor the price but it would have to be done another day as he quoted the price for the wrong car (have a 96 Lincoln town car also) so what he thought would take 2 1/2 hours will now take 5 and it would need to be done next week. Ok no problem.

Last night I did some poking to see exactly what he was saying, and found that there is indeed a lot of work to get those rears off (back seat removal etc) but I also found out that the springs on this model were known to be bad and the fronts were recalled in 2004. This has been in the family since new, dad put 28k on it and gave it to me, which it now stands at 80k.

Now question here is everything on the car is mainly original except the computer and the air condition compressor, both were replaced in the first year. The springs were never messed with and I am indeed in what Ford refers to as the "rust belt". The fronts are original and are not broken, but should I pull them for fear of it happening, or can I get my hands on Fords supposed fix which I believe is a just a piece of metal attached somewhere to block spring from puncturing the tire?

anyone have any horror stories, things they did, suggestions?:mellow:

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)