Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

Brake System Issue

5K views 23 replies 10 participants last post by  q0987 
#1 ·
Hoping I can get some advice that will lead me to a CONCLUSIVE diagnosis of this issue with my brake system...

So, nearly two weeks ago my friend who was driving the car to get some food at the time notified me that on his way back he had to push the brake pedal all the way down to the floor to get any resistance, but even then it is not nearly enough resistance for safety purposes. So, I need some help here.

In other words, I would not take that down a steep grade (which I am surrounded on all sides by!) or on the freeway let alone take it on a main road. Since I cannot take it to a repair shop, my options are limited. I'm a college student so I don't have money to be throwing away by making uninformed decisions.

So, I need some help from this community! Some other helpful info for you guys in your advice-giving: my fluid level is just under the "max fill" line, there are no visible leak spots underneath the car, and the pads/rotors do need to be replaces, but were at least in operating condition.

I also attempt to do this myself. Based on what I have researched so far (even though I do not have much experience, I very much so love to work on cars and to problem solve, so I've spent a long time researching opinions and possible solutions to this problem!), the two frequent conclusions made by other sources are that either the brake booster or master cylinder needs to be replaced. However, the cylinder seems to somewhat to be doing its job because I am getting some pressure and resistance in the system but at a very low degree.

Hope to hear from someone soon!

See less See more
#3 ·