Connecting Amp To Stock Head Unit - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto Loans
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-23-2004, 11:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 3809
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tampa, FL
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 94
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
pheenix11 has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Hi am thinking of adding and amp & some new speakers to my 2002 Sable LS.

I know that I can either get a line out converter or use an amp with speaker level inputs. My question is how do the connections go exactly?

Is it line out converter connected to the radio, connect those rca's to the amp and then run speaker wire from the amp to the speakers? What wires do I connect the line out converter too? Are they in the RCU in the trunk?

Or if I use an amp with speaker level inputs, do I just splice the speaker wire that goes from the head unit to the speaker and connect a wire from that splice to the amp? Just 1 wire makes the signal go to the amp and the power go back to the speakers? Is that right?

Trying to figure out which way would work better.

Thanks,
Rich
__________________
2002 Mercury Sable LS & 2002 Ford Taurus SES (wife)
Eclipse 5423
Audiovox PNP3 Sirius Plug N Play Receiver
CDT EF-61CFi
US Acoustics USC-2150
2 CDT CL-1015's in sealed box
US Acoustics USX-800F
pheenix11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-23-2004, 11:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
baby sho's Avatar
 
Member Number: 533
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Upstate, NY
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 2,090
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
baby sho has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

amps with line level in are the exact same thing as an external Line level converter. Only the external aftermarket ones do a much better job.

In either case, just tap the rear 2 speakers (for subs) or all 4 speakers (for a 4 channel amp) and run the output RCA's to your amp.

If using an aftermarket Line Level Converter, there wll most likley be 6 wires, two grey, two white, and two boown. Ground both brown wires to the frame.

Brad
__________________
99' Black Taurus SE - Project BABY SHO v.2
Window Automation, Sattelite Vehicle Control, Dropped
SCT Micro Tuner/Flasher, 5-Speed Manual Tranny
SHO Front/Rear Disk Upgrade/Conversion, Bias Bypass
4 Corner Rear SFB's, Modified Tail's, Cold Air Intake....

98' Red E0 Contour SVT - Project SVT Tour'
Pioneer Touch Screen Navigation / DVD, Infinity Speakers
Borla Stainless Cat-Back, AEM True CAI, High Flow Y-Pipe
3L Hybrid w/ 3L Valves, Window Automation, Torsen LSD
Adjustable Koni Sport Kit Suspension, 17" FSVT Wheels....

97' F-150 Lariat
- Project Tow(the)Sho
Stock With All Options (Not For Long!)
baby sho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 12:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 3809
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tampa, FL
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 94
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
pheenix11 has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

When you say run the output RCA's to the amp are you referring to the scenario using a line out converter?

If I don't use a line out converter and use the speaker level inputs on the amp then what would connect the head unit to the amp?
__________________
2002 Mercury Sable LS & 2002 Ford Taurus SES (wife)
Eclipse 5423
Audiovox PNP3 Sirius Plug N Play Receiver
CDT EF-61CFi
US Acoustics USC-2150
2 CDT CL-1015's in sealed box
US Acoustics USX-800F
pheenix11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 12:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
Damon's Avatar
 
Member Number: 1423
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Watertown, Massachusetts
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 3,447
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
Damon has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pheenix11@Sep 23 2004, 12:25 PM
When you say run the output RCA's to the amp are you referring to the scenario using a line out converter?

If I don't use a line out converter and use the speaker level inputs on the amp then what would connect the head unit to the amp?
Maybe an RCA cable??

-Damon
__________________
2003 Taurus SEL - Gold Ash Metallic, 10K
2000 Taurus SEL - Performance White - SOLD! 8/09
1999 Sable LS Wagon - Vibrant White - SOLD! 4/07
Damon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 01:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Member Number: 63
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 927
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
golovko has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pheenix11@Sep 23 2004, 12:25 PM
If I don't use a line out converter and use the speaker level inputs on the amp then what would connect the head unit to the amp?
The speaker wire inputs on the amp would be connection between the amp and the head unit.

Quote:
When you say run the output RCA's to the amp are you referring to the scenario using a line out converter?
Yes
__________________


Purdue University Civil Engineering[/i]
golovko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 01:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Member Number: 63
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 927
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
golovko has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

If you want a good quality line output converter, check out David Navone's LOCs.
__________________


Purdue University Civil Engineering[/i]
golovko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 02:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 3809
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tampa, FL
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 94
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
pheenix11 has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Yeah I saw some LOC's on that site, they seem like they would be better quality. I also saw some on PIE's site, the people that make adapters.

Are all the wires that hook up to the line converter in the trunk? I did a search but couldn't find a list of wire colors for a Gen 4...anyone have one?

Which wires does the LOC actually connect to?

Thanks for your help.

Rich
__________________
2002 Mercury Sable LS & 2002 Ford Taurus SES (wife)
Eclipse 5423
Audiovox PNP3 Sirius Plug N Play Receiver
CDT EF-61CFi
US Acoustics USC-2150
2 CDT CL-1015's in sealed box
US Acoustics USX-800F
pheenix11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 04:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
XLSuruaT
Guest
 
Member Number:
Visit: My Garage
Posts: n/a
Default

http://www.taurusclub.com/forum/inde...showtopic=5638 That is how I wired my amp and subs to my factory hu. The harness I made is still for sale.
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2