Factory Alarm - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto Loans
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-27-2013, 08:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
ringo234's Avatar
 
Member Number: 51304
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Chapter: West Coast
Drives: 2003 Sable LS Premium
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 51
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 4
ringo234 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Factory Alarm

I bought my 2003 Sable on Easter 2012. It has keypad for the doors and a factory alarm with keyless entry. I found the Master key-code.
My question is after I enter the key-code will the factory remote start working the factory alarm or is there something else I need to know.
Every once in a while the factory alarm will go off and the only way to stop it is by putting a key in the door and unlocking it. I know it's a factory alarm because of the flashing red light on the dash panel.
I also had an after market alarm installed.
I hope this clear enough for someone to point me in right direction to get the remote to control the alarm and keyless entry.
Thanks Andy
ringo234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-27-2013, 08:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Technical Advisor
 
behlinla's Avatar
 
Member Number: 14275
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: A blue car
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 7,482
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 79
behlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond reputebehlinla has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Entering a valid code will stop an alarm in progress, as will pressing the unlock button on a fob or putting the key in the ignition and turning it to ON.
behlinla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
ringo234's Avatar
 
Member Number: 51304
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Chapter: West Coast
Drives: 2003 Sable LS Premium
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 51
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 4
ringo234 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

The remote I got with the car has never done anything when pushed.
I was hoping resetting the door code would fix that but maybe not.
ringo234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 52074
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lexington, KY
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: 2010 Taurus SEL AWD 3.5L Duratec V6
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 46
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
bmwides is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Factory Alarm

Have you changed the battery in the fob?


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
bmwides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Crazy Devoted Member
 
Member Number: 10865
Join Date: Dec 2006
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 12,200
Trader Score: 1 reviews
Rep Power: 52
sheila is a glorious beacon of lightsheila is a glorious beacon of light
Default

^+1. Check/replace fob batt. Reprogram fob (remote) per owners manual instructions.
sheila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
ringo234's Avatar
 
Member Number: 51304
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Chapter: West Coast
Drives: 2003 Sable LS Premium
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 51
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 4
ringo234 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwides View Post
Have you changed the battery in the fob?


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Yeah, the first thing I tried I wish it was that easy. I never heard the term FOB before.
ringo234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
belcher08's Avatar
 
Member Number: 47010
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: East Grand Rapids, MI
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: 2001 SES Vulcan (Sold)
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 269
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 5
belcher08 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to belcher08
Default

Reprogram it. Super simple to do. Turn the key from Off to On (NOT START) 8 times. The locks will cycle when the car is in programming mode. Press any button on the fob (keyless entry remote, dongle, whatchamagoozer... you get the idea... it has many names). Voila! You have a programmed remote. If that doesn't program it, the factory alarm is enabled by grounding a wire on a connector that goes to the GEM. (Power to wire = No alarm... weird right?) I don't remember which wire it was, but I know it works because I grounded it and gained the factory alarm. Someone had a write up about it. Try searching perimeter alarm. It was a thread from back in March. So basically if you want to kill the factory alarm, hook that wire to 12v and it should disable it... thus preventing the alarm from going off.

You also said you had an aftermarket alarm installed, why did the installer not disable the factory alarm? Aftermarket and factory alarms usually don't play well together.
__________________
Tyler
2001 Taurus SES Vulcan (Toreador Red) "Taurusaurus Rex" - Traded on 08/15/2013

2009 Kia Rio LX 1.6L CVVT (Silver Frost) "The Econobox"

Last edited by belcher08; 01-30-2013 at 09:59 AM. Reason: Quoted myself... oops!
belcher08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 01:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
ringo234's Avatar
 
Member Number: 51304
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Chapter: West Coast
Drives: 2003 Sable LS Premium
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 51
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 4
ringo234 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belcher08 View Post
Reprogram it. Super simple to do. Turn the key from Off to On (NOT START) 8 times. The locks will cycle when the car is in programming mode. Press any button on the fob (keyless entry remote, dongle, whatchamagoozer... you get the idea... it has many names). Voila! You have a programmed remote. If that doesn't program it, the factory alarm is enabled by grounding a wire on a connector that goes to the GEM. (Power to wire = No alarm... weird right?) I don't remember which wire it was, but I know it works because I grounded it and gained the factory alarm. Someone had a write up about it. Try searching perimeter alarm. It was a thread from back in March. So basically if you want to kill the factory alarm, hook that wire to 12v and it should disable it... thus preventing the alarm from going off.

You also said you had an aftermarket alarm installed, why did the installer not disable the factory alarm? Aftermarket and factory alarms usually don't play well together.
It did the above the door locks cycled as above. I pressed a button on the FOB and nothing. I think maybe it's been disabled. I did replace the battery. Oh well I do have a better after market paging alarm/remote/fob
ringo234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 08:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Member Number: 41966
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Denver Metro Area, CO
Chapter: Midwest
Drives: My brother's 1993 SHO, stick shift. Electrical has been jacked with BADLY
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 81
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 8
ctubutis has a spectacular aura about
Default

It could be the FOB you have is not correct for your generation of Remote Keyless Entry. Not all FOBs are alike.
ctubutis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2