How Do You Bypass Park Wire For Cd Player? - Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum
Register Home Forums Active Topics Topic Finder Photos Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto Loans
TaurusClub.com is the premier Ford Taurus Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-26-2007, 02:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
herter300's Avatar
 
Member Number: 10187
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chelsea, Michigan
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 10
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
herter300 has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to herter300 Send a message via Yahoo to herter300
Default

i just installed a jensen cd player with a 7" screen and i want to know if there is a way to bypass the park wire so i can have it on when i drive. i've read that you can just ground the wire and it should work but i tried it several times and it just wont work. also my dash had the air bag light and the new one doesnt, is that gonna harm anything. my airbag light gauge is now on. anyway i can fix it without getting a new dash?

Thanks
__________________
2005 Taurus SE Vulcan - SOLD
1999 Mustang SVT Cobra
Flowmaster Catback
herter300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-26-2007, 02:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Don't Be Stupid

 
Member Number: 4508
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Commierado
Chapter: Southern
Drives: 2010 SEL 2000 Tec
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 6,894
Trader Score: 1 reviews
Rep Power: 33
00tec-satx is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
i just installed a jensen cd player with a 7" screen and i want to know if there is a way to bypass the park wire so i can have it on when i drive. i've read that you can just ground the wire and it should work but i tried it several times and it just wont work. also my dash had the air bag light and the new one doesnt, is that gonna harm anything. my airbag light gauge is now on. anyway i can fix it without getting a new dash?

Thanks [/b]
With those, there is usually a sequence you have to go through to get it to come on. Do you have your manual?

__________________
Give a man a fire and he'll be warm for the day. Set him on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

00tec-satx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 02:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
herter300's Avatar
 
Member Number: 10187
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chelsea, Michigan
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 10
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
herter300 has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to herter300 Send a message via Yahoo to herter300
Default

yes i have the manual
__________________
2005 Taurus SE Vulcan - SOLD
1999 Mustang SVT Cobra
Flowmaster Catback
herter300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 02:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Don't Be Stupid

 
Member Number: 4508
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Commierado
Chapter: Southern
Drives: 2010 SEL 2000 Tec
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 6,894
Trader Score: 1 reviews
Rep Power: 33
00tec-satx is on a distinguished road
Default

Look in there for the certain sequence. Then you will have to install a switch to ground and do the sequence everytime you want it to turn on. It's a little difficult to explain, but if you have problems, let me know.

As for the airbag light, your airbags will not function properly as long as that light is on, to fix it:
Quote:
Airbag mod (Only for 2004+ models). What you need is a 10k resistor and some t clamps. find the brown/blue wire and the red/yellow wire.



Stip some of the wire covering away and connect the airbag light mod.
[/b]
__________________
Give a man a fire and he'll be warm for the day. Set him on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

00tec-satx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 02:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
herter300's Avatar
 
Member Number: 10187
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chelsea, Michigan
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 10
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
herter300 has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to herter300 Send a message via Yahoo to herter300
Default

so basically i have to install another switch to ground the wire and then follow the sequence in the manual. got it. Thanks for all the help.
__________________
2005 Taurus SE Vulcan - SOLD
1999 Mustang SVT Cobra
Flowmaster Catback
herter300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 02:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Devoted Member
 
tauruskev's Avatar
 
Member Number: 6881
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Chapter: Eastern Canada
Drives: 1995 Ford Taurus Station Wagon. >:)
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 1,836
Trader Score: 1 reviews
Rep Power: 21
tauruskev will become famous soon enough
Default

Aw damn, I just searched for forums for that page. The mods should sticky the How-To for 04-07 Taurus/sable with that Airbag light.
__________________
VBulletin Still Sucks.

Fun fact, Toyotas will never die. NEVER DIE.
This fact brought to you by the R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company
tauruskev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 02:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Don't Be Stupid

 
Member Number: 4508
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Commierado
Chapter: Southern
Drives: 2010 SEL 2000 Tec
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 6,894
Trader Score: 1 reviews
Rep Power: 33
00tec-satx is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
so basically i have to install another switch to ground the wire and then follow the sequence in the manual. got it. Thanks for all the help. [/b]
Yeah, the sequence sucks, but you gotta deal with what you have



Here's another article about the airbag light:

Quote:
Well I did it tonight and I can say this I hate the back of my dash, here is the install procedure i used incase anyone is intrested Warning this was done on a 2005 SE Taurus sedan directions may be diffrent for others. I take no responbility for any damage. Make sure to cover all connections either with the crimp caps or shrink stuff

Parts needed:
10k ohm resistor
Wire taps
The metra dash kit (of course)
Crimp caps
electrical tape
solider
soldering iron
Ford Din keys
Hex screw driver
socket set
torx screw driver

Step one
Remove the factory head unit and the cage that is supporing the back of the headunit
put this to one side for a min
Step 2
Solder on 2 bits of wire to the resistor to create leads for what you are about to do
Step 3
Using taps tap wire 3 Brown/Blue and wire 5 Red/Yellow on the factory radio harness
when looking at the connector with the clasp bit up pin 1 is on the top right side. Using the electrical tape wrap every bit of the resistor and taps so no metal is exposed. (Big warning you dont want this circuit grounding out as it may deploy airbags without warning) put the harness to one side for one min
Step 4 follow the install kits instructions to run the wires from the RCU from the trunk to the dash and wire up your radios harness.
Step 5
plug in the harnesses but leave it danging for a moment and start the car to make sure everything works.
Step 6 Shove everything back in the dash including the aftermaket radio
Step 7 Enjoy!!1[/b]
__________________
Give a man a fire and he'll be warm for the day. Set him on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

00tec-satx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 07:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
Member Number: 12455
Join Date: Jun 2007
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 119
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
unique.kp has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

Let me know which model you have. There are ways to get around it without a switch.

Just make sure to follow you local laws

unique.kp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 04:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
herter300's Avatar
 
Member Number: 10187
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chelsea, Michigan
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 10
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
herter300 has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Send a message via AIM to herter300 Send a message via Yahoo to herter300
Default

i have a Jensen Phase Linear UV7i
__________________
2005 Taurus SE Vulcan - SOLD
1999 Mustang SVT Cobra
Flowmaster Catback
herter300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 08:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member
 
Member Number: 12455
Join Date: Jun 2007
Visit: My Garage
Posts: 119
Trader Score: 0 reviews
Rep Power: 0
unique.kp has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default

1. load dvd
2. wait for dvd to play
3. with the remote push stop twice
4. then push 1,2,6,4
5. then a hidden menu pops up
6. use joystick to scroll down to brake over ride and turn on
7. then click the system setup on the remote twice to save.

Make sure to follow your local laws
unique.kp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2